Goodreads.com is currently running a sign-up user journey that involves the Friend Spam dark pattern. First, a twitter user notices that a friend has tweeted something along the lines of “Check out my shelves on Goodreads: http://xxx.ly/xxxxx”. When the user clicks this, they are invited to give Goodreads.com twitter authorisation. Having done that, the user is shown an “add friends” page (shown below). There is a preselected checkbox at the bottom labelled “Share goodreads with my Twitter friends that don’t have an account yet”. If the user forgets to untick this checkbox, Goodreads automatically sends out a tweet using your account credentials. It does this “secretly” – the only way a user will notice is by checking their own twitter feed.